Ebay Phishing

Matt Emmerton matt at gsicomp.on.ca
Sun Mar 20 16:44:12 PST 2005

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "Kris Kennaway" <kris at obsecurity.org>
To: "Warren Block" <wblock at wonkity.com>
Cc: "Christopher Nehren" <apeiron+usenet at coitusmentis.info>;
<freebsd-questions at freebsd.org>
Sent: Sunday, March 20, 2005 7:12 PM
Subject: Re: Ebay Phishing

On Sun, Mar 20, 2005 at 01:49:57PM -0700, Warren Block wrote:

> What do you have to edit?  If you're in Comcast dynamic space, why not
> just smarthost through their servers?

Not referring to Comcast, but for Rogers which is also blacklisted by
a lot of people: their "smart" host likes to delay or randomly drop
outbound mail making it useless for reliable email delivery, and they
require you to send mail from a rogers.com address, which means you
can't use personal domains (like this one).


----------- reply separator -------------

Actually, what you say is not true for Rogers.  I've been sending mail
directly out of my Rogers-hosted machine for almost a year now, without
going through their "smart" hosts.  This was one of the reasons I switched
to Rogers from Sympatico -- Sympatico locked down port 25 which forced me to
use their crappy mail servers, and I was easily losing 50% of my mail.

Matt Emmerton

More information about the freebsd-questions mailing list